Can You Double Jump in Checkers? (Triple? Quadruple?) 


Can You Double Jump in Checkers? (Triple? Quadruple?) 

*This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Looking at a checkers board, you see 64 squares in a 8×8 grid. There are alternating colors of either white and black or red and black. Those at least are the most common colors you will see when viewing a checkers board. 

Each player will have 12 checkers to start the game. Each player will choose their color to be used to identify their pieces from the other. 

There will be 3 rows of 4 starting with the row closest to the player on alternating squares that coordinate with the other player. The object of the game is to capture the opponent’s pieces or make it impossible for the pieces to move on the board. 

Each player will take a different turn, and a player must move their piece before a different move from the opponent will be allowed to go. 

Looking at the game as an observer, you may decide that it’s a relatively easy game. Until you start to learn the rules and possibilities that can be done in the game. You will invariably want to ask a ton of questions as you learn the game. 

One of the more common questions deals with jumping. Can you double jump in checkers? What about triple jumps? Is it even possible to do a quadruple jump while playing the game?

You can make as many jumps as are available to you as you go across the board. So you can double, triple, or quadruple jump in a single turn as long as that doesn’t land you in the other side of the board where you become king. 

If you become a king part way through your jumping spree you have to stop. When you are crowned your turn ends so you can’t get back to jumping your opponent’s pieces until your next turn. 

To capture or jump a piece in checkers is mandatory when playing the game. It’s how you advance and win the game. The goal is to jump or capture the opponent’s pieces so you can win the game. 

If you can’t jump the pieces, then you want to make it so that the opponent will have no other options available to their piece, making their piece immobile. 

It’s a glorious feeling when you win the game, and get gloating points among friends and acquaintances! 

You capture a piece when the opponent has a piece directly in front of your piece on the square going in the same direction, and the diagonal square behind it is empty. Then you take your piece and jump or capture the other piece and land on the other side. 

You then can remove your opponent’s piece that you jumped from the board and brag about your awesome move!

But if you can jump once, is it possible to double jump? Triple jump? Wait, is it even in the rules to do a quadruple jump? 

Now this type of move would be a great feat for you, and a hand to palm moment for your opponent! But, these moves are a possibility! 

The board would have to be set up to your advantage, but if you play your pieces just right, that possibility can become a reality. 

When you do your first jump, you see the opponent’s piece on a diagonal square directly beyond your piece going the same direction and the square behind it empty, and then you can complete your jump. Now if there’s another of your opponent’s pieces in front of your current piece you’re using and you see the same set up that was seen previously, you may jump again. 

That will give you a double jump. 

Now if you’re still holding onto your current piece and look further from where you landed and see, again, the same option open to you, you can do your third jump! If you still haven’t made it to the end of the board, and after completing the third jump, you are still holding your piece, and now you see again your opponent has so nicely set you up with a piece that needs to be captured and it’s on a diagonal that’s going forward and the spot behind it is free, go ahead and capture in your quadruple jump! 

You just made a quadruple jump! Your opponent’s jaw may be all the way on the ground, and you may have to help him or her up from the shock of your amazing prowess on the board, but there you have it!

When you play your game of checkers, be aware of the surroundings of your pieces. When making a move, you may be able to do more than one jump all in one turn! It’s always exciting to know that you can do more than previously thought. 

Hopefully you’ll be able to amaze your opponents with how well you can play and win the game!

To see the most popular checkers sets just click here. 

Is It Better To Go First Or Second When Playing Checkers?

You see the opportunity to play checkers, and you are available to play! You quickly get to the board, and see your opponent is already setting up his pieces. 

Seeing he already has his color picked out, you get the other set of the colors and begin to set up your side of the board. Your 12 pieces are finally set up, and then you’re asked the question… “Do you want to go first or second?” 

This causes you to hesitate as you really don’t know which option is the best! The agony of the decision weighs on you as you deliberate your options. 

But seriously, when you take yourself out of the equation, you ask yourself which is the best option? Is it better to go first or second when playing checkers?

The goal of the game of checkers is to jump or capture your opponent’s pieces or make it impossible to make them move. You want to capture as many as possible, so you have a greater chance of winning, and also to advance your options when playing. 

But which is the better choice when you start the game? Is having the first move the greater advantage, or the second?

Moving first is always an advantage. You get the chance to set the board in the direction you wish and  you get to put your opponent on the defense as he now has to think about how you’ve moved. 

However, as you play the game a lot of possible moves are weak. With this situation, what you perceived as strength may actually open yourself up to weakness. If your opponent sees your moves with weakness that may be easily overcome, then he may be able to overcome you and therefore win the game.

It really will have to be your decision. If you already know your opponent and are confident that you will win, then definitely go first! He may not be able to spot your weaknesses. 

But if you’re in a situation where you don’t know your opponent so well, maybe you should let him go first and you go second. This way you have the opportunity to study your opponent and look for weaknesses that you may conquer. 

Since there are so many moves in checkers, you have endless options for winning. Hopefully your opponent will not be easy to beat. If you don’t win, then you have the opportunity to learn and add moves to your repertoire. 

Either way you are able to take advantage of whichever option is the best in your situation. Even if you lose, then you are able to make a new decision the next time you play. 

So enjoy playing the game of checkers!

Recent Posts